My Hobby

There are times when I can tell

That I did choose my hobby well.

When the words I put onto the page

Seem to transcend my current age.

When the verbs and nouns don’t interfere

With what I want for you to hear.

Yes writing is the game for me

And I will gladly play for free.

Couplets and prose form a beautiful song

That I could write to all day long.

And the way the unstructured structure of the form

Makes every hour seem a promising morn.

With my pen and keyboard I create and destroy,

The entire cosmos becomes my toy.

So listen to the melody

And you will also see

You must agree,

That a writer is what I must be.

Leave a Reply

