More Tired Words

When I write, I try not to directly address my audience unless I am writing for that purpose. But right now my writing has no purpose. I just need to talk to you.

It is a little out of the ordinary for me to do this; write as if I was speaking to you face to face. But it helps me clear my head even if I am not putting any of my thoughts on the page or even if you are not reading this. You may remember me doing it once before in a rambling essay called ‘Tired Words’. This is somewhat similar (but hopefully lacks all of the spelling and grammar errors).

Anyway, I think it is natural for me to do this every now and then.

Every now and then the writer needs to address his audience. He needs to feel some connection with them besides the usual prose and dialogue which make up the bulk of his work. The writer, when faced with a lack of inspiration or direction on how to proceed needs to address the very people he works to entertain, the very people who he toils to engage in worlds of whim and fantasy and he needs to tell them that once again he is very, very tired.

Good night.

Maybe we’ll talk more tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

