Drug

Curtains drawn. Lights dim. Music low and soft. A gentle breeze moves outside the window. Footsteps can be heard outside in the hall. Inside the room, an addict and a friend each breathe in the fumes of a mysterious substance. Then they retreat to two couches, oddly placed opposite one another. The air is still, but their worlds begin to spin and spin and spin. The addict sees it as part of the promised trip, but the less experienced one panics and leaps afoot then freezes, then waits, then speaks.

“This isn’t good.”

“What’s not good?”

“I can’t feel anything. I can’t move. There’s nothing. There’s no me!”

“Shhh. Relax. Calm down. You’ll only make it worse”

“Please, make it stop. I’m scared. Oh, god. Why didn’t you tell me it was going to be like this?”

“I couldn’t have told you. Everyone experiences it differently.”

“Jesus, Christ. My legs are moving.”

“So you’re fine then?”

“NO, I’m NOT fine. I didn’t tell them to move. My goddamn legs are moving all by themselves.”

“Okay, how are your arms?”

“How are you so calm? Can’t you see that I’m not in control of my body?”

“To be honest, I can’t see anything right now. I’m blind as a bat.”

“Fuck-“

“Listen, just go with the flow. The more you fight it the worse it’s gonna be.”

“But what if I end up in public and everyone sees.”

“So what?”

“Well, they’re gonna, be all judgy.”

“Let them judge. They’ve all tried it. The biggest lie people tell themselves is that this shit is bad for them.”

“But what if-“

“And what’s a cop gonna do? Arrest you? They’d laugh his ass out of the station. It’s not illegal.”

“But I’m scared. I have absolutely no control over my body.”

“As I said, just go with the flow.”

“Okay, go with the flow. Got it… Are, you just going to lie there all day?”

“I may get up later when I start seeing clearly again.”

“Go with the flow, go with the flow. Hey, this does feel good. Whoa, can you see all of these colours? Are they always this bright?”

“Want another hit?”

“Yeah, hit me again, I mean, if you think I’m ready for it.”

“That’s another lie we always tell ourselves. Nobody is ever ready for the ride. We just gotta enjoy it while we’re on it.”

As time passes footsteps are left outside by those passing through, who have no idea of the world changing experience two friends are having not a few feet away. A light snowfall begins and ends and the snow fades under the warmth and pressure of sunlight.

“How’re you feeling?”

“A little light headed. My heart’s beating really fast.”

“That’s normal.”

The more experienced of the two cleans up the room and sets about moving the precious substance into a safe container.

“Hey, how come there’s more of it now?”

“That’s the beauty of L, at least of the real thing. Once you get your hands on some, it is literally impossible to make it run out or even to throw it away.”

“But the fake stuff…”

“Crap. All of it. Made in some basement factory or something by some guy who’s probably missing a tooth. Feels the same but it is gone before you even can get a taste. Then you’re shelling out maybe fifty to a hundred bucks just for an hour’s worth. The real thing is natural though.”

“So, how does any dealer make money off of it the real thing if nobody ever runs out? And how does anybody fall for the fake stuff?”

“You don’t get the real thing from a dealer. You have to find it yourself. Or maybe it’s shared with you. But if somebody is impatient they can always go down a back alley. Or maybe they were curious and heard the wrong things about it and so they mistake the fake stuff for the real stuff.”

“Have you ever…?”

“Too many times. But I’ve got a good supply now. And so do you.”

The handoff is made very carefully as the container passes to its new owner. It feels heavy, but not in the traditional sense. It is more as if the substance is trying to escape its confines and re-enter the bodies of the room’s occupants.

“I don’t know what to say.”

“Thank you is a good start.”

The friends hug and the addict departs. The new owner of the container places it in a place of security but also of prominence then smiles and sits down to think about the new world that the substance has created. The light is dim, the music soft, and the future is bright.

Leave a Reply

