Waiting for the Bus

And I was in such a good mood too…

Everybody who has ever had to take public transit keeps a list of the aspects of it which annoy them the most. For some people it is the rude operators and staff. For others the grime and graffiti grind their gears. Some people are annoyed by how slow it runs compared to cars and taxis while others may find issue with their fellow passengers.

Me? My problem is the schedule.

My issue with the scheduling of public transit breaks down into two major gripes:

First of all, why is there a different  Sunday schedule? Why do trains and buses start so much later on Sundays? Why does the scheduler of the public transit system still insist I stay in my home on the CHRISTIAN sabbath in the year two thousand and fucking fourteen? I am NOT Christian and I can count my friends who keep the Sabbath on one hand, so why do I have to follow your rules which state that I should do no work today? I am a University student living off-campus. Sometimes I need to get to the University early on the weekend to study. Sometimes I like to keep up appearances and pursue a social life (shocker! An engineering student  with a study group!)

Not to mention that many events on Sundays begin early. And think of all the jobs that could be created by servicing the Sunday off hours. And the fares which could be collected. And the extra money that would be spent and made once commuters got where they needed to go. Newsflash: people work early on Sundays now and usually cannot afford to drive to work. They are called students working in dead end service jobs and they put money back into the economy just like everyone else. But Your archaic schedule harms the economy and harms metropolitan interaction.

And don’t tell me this is supposed to get me to interact with my family and community more. This isn’t Leave it to Beaver. I spend most of my time on my phone or on the Internet or out of my house. If I wanted to spend my Sunday having my parents and siblings raise my blood pressure then I would not barricade myself in my room or go other places.

Secondly, why did I just miss my bus? Take a guess. It wasn’t because I was late getting to the stop. I was early. But do you know who was earlier? That’s right, the bus driver.

I am usually only mildly upset when the bus is late. I can rationalize the situation. Maybe there was traffic or a lot of people got on or off a few stops earlier causing a delay.

but when the bus arrives at the stop minutes early then continues on its way without so much of a pause then i get so mad i forget to capitalize properly.

Mr or Ms Bus Driver: THE POSTED SCHEDULE IS A COVENANT BETWEEN DRIVER AND PASSENGER THAT PROMISES YOU WILL ARRIVE AND LEAVE AT A CERTAIN TIME. BY ARRIVING AT THE STOP MINUTES EARLY AND LEAVING IMMEDIATELY WITHOUT THE SLIGHTEST PAUSE YOU HAVE BROKEN THIS COVENANT AND FOR THAT YOU SHALL BURN IN HELLFIRE AND YOUR DESCENDANTS SHALL FOREVER BE MARKED WITH A SIGN OF SHAME.

Sorry, I don’t usually get all Old Testament on people but I suppose if the local transit system is going to then I may as well follow suit.

Seriously though, these are simple fixes that would make life better in the cities we call home. Or maybe it’s just a problem in my hometown (Toronto) and in my home away from home (Guelph). Maybe it’s just an Ontario thing,  or a Canadian thing.

Either way these problems are stupid and annoying and need to be stopped.

Leave a Reply

